Sunday, July 10, 2011

A reminder about a slightly older project- Coil Sea

Coil Sea - Waking the Naga from Thrill Jockey Records on Vimeo.

For those who are new to Arbouretum, Coil Sea is a project and album that features Matthew Pierce and Dave Heumann from Arbouretum, and was released over a year ago. It's composed of four instrumental improv-based tracks that are the result of documenting a band whose members had never previously played together as a group. It was recorded over the course of two sessions, the results of which were edited together to create a seamless whole.

Recently it has come to my attention that there are still quite a few copies of this LP-only release at the Thrill Jockey Store, and well, I figured it was as good a time as any to mention this...


Radiohoofdnz said...

It is a very brilliant album, i bought it at the gig in Amsterdam (Paradiso)
Thanks Marc de Jong

David H said...

Thanks, not as many people have heard it as the Arbouretum stuff, but it's something I'm proud of.